fbpx

Mining Resources

We’ve compiled the information and tools you need to discover the full potential of Northwestern Ontario’s mining industry.

General Resources

Thunder Bay is currently home to an estimated 400-500 mine supply and service companies and has the capacity to support more businesses in the mining and exploration sector.

To view the directory or to register your business click here.

Industry Associations and Other Useful Links

The Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM)

CIM is a technical society of professionals in the Canadian minerals, metals, materials and energy industries. The CIM’s mission is to provide leadership, quality services, and value to CIM members through technical forums, publications, professional and social networking opportunities, continuing education, and recognition of excellence programs. Visit the CIM website for more information.

The Ontario Mining Association (OMA)

OMA was established in 1920 to represent the mining industry of the province. Their fifty-seven members are engaged in exploring, producing and processing mineral resources in an environmentally responsible manner. The majority of the members are operating mines in Northern Ontario and produce gold, nickel, copper and a variety of other metals and minerals. Visit the OMA website for more information.

The Ontario Prospectors Association (OPA)

The objectives of the Ontario Prospectors Association are to represent and further the interests of the mineral exploration industry and the interests of prospectors. OPA’s mission is to enhance and promote the Ontario mineral exploration and development community to foster a healthy mining industry. Visit the OPA website for more information. Regional members of the OPA include the Northwestern Ontario Prospectors Association and Boreal Prospectors Association.

The Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada (PDAC)

PDAC is a national association representing the interests of the mineral exploration and development industry. The association works to ensure a robust mineral industry in Canada, and encourage the highest standards of technical, environmental, safety and social practices in Canada and internationally. Visit the PDAC website for more information.

Mining Information Kit for Aboriginal Communities

This information kit explains the purpose of mine development, identifies the main activities and players, and outlines opportunities for Aboriginal communities to get involved during mine development. Visit the Natural Resources Canada website for more information.

Government Services

Federal, Provincial and Municipal government encourages exploration and development of our natural minerals, which capitalizes on growth opportunities for investors and sustains our mineral industry.
Government of Ontario

The Ministry of Energy, Northern Development and Mines (MENDM) Northern Ontario makes up about 90 percent of Ontario, and is bigger than most provinces. The Ministry of Energy, Northern Development and Mines (MENDM) serves this region and the province’s minerals industry. MENDM delivers provincial government programs and services in Northern Ontario. They also represent northern and mining interests at Queen’s Park. Visit the MENDM website for more information. The Mines and Minerals Division works to support responsible land use management and mineral resource development by administration of the Mining Act, providing public geoscience information and client services.

Government of Canada

Natural Resources Canada (NRCan)


The Minerals and Metals Sector (MMS) of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) is the federal government’s main source of minerals- and metals-related economic and scientific knowledge, including statistics, sustainable development, commodities, technological expertise, and policy advice. Visit the NRCan website for more information.

Available Land

If you would like to see the owners of the Heavy Industrial Land please see the owners under 100ac and owners over 100ac

Mining Sector Supply Chain Contacts

NamePositionCompanyPhone NumberEmail
Ken Donner
Dimitry
Demianyuk
VP Operations
Project Manager
Pure Gold Mining604 788 5144kdonner@puregoldmining.ca
ddemianyuk@puregoldmining.ca
Maria ForsytheMaterials Management SuperintendentEvolution Mining – Red Lake807-735-2077maria.forsythe@evolutionmining.com
John MaceySupply Chain ManagerImpala Canada807-448-2004jmacey@impalacanada.com
Rob HicklinSupply Chain CoordinatorNewmont Goldcorp Inc. – Musselwhite Mine807-928-3021rob.hicklin@newmont.com
Bob Vaudry
Bill McCutcheon
Supply ChainBarrick Inc.807-238-2162bvaudry@barrick.com

Alex Bruyere

Ravi Samaroo

Russ McMahon 

Business Dev Officer

Supply Chain Manager

Procurement Manager

New Gold Inc.
Rainy River Project
807-707-2758

alex.bruyere@newgold.com

Ravi.samaroo@newgold.com

russ.mcmahon@newgold.com.

Joseph Schembri

Mike Boivin

Procurement DirectorGreenstone Gold Mines905-8293134
819-859-0638
joseph.schembri@ggmines.com
mike.boivin@ggmines.com
Doug Sloss Procurement WarehouseCoordinatorHarte Gold807-230-0003 Ext 125/131dsloss@hartegold.com

Mining Specific Education & Training Resources

Anishinabek Employment and Training Services

Anishinabek Employment and Training Services (heavy equipment, pre-trades, driver training)

 

John Degiacomo – john.degiacomo@aets.org

Buhler-Moore First Aid Services

Buhler-Moore First Aid Services (CPR, First Aid)

 

info@thunderbayfirstaid.ca

Canadian Red Cross
Canadian Red Cross (First Aid,CPR) 807-6233073
Canadian Union of Skilled Workers Chris Godda

Canadian Union of Skilled Workers

 

Chris Godda – cgodda@cusw.ca

Carpenters Union Evan Reid

Carpenters Union

 

Evan Reid – Evan1669@tbaytel.net

CAT-Toromont

CAT-Toromont (operator and maintenance training)

 

Al Boehk – aboehk@toromont.com

Confederation College

Confederation College (customized skilled trades/workforce training)

 

Carol Cline –  carol.cline@confederationcollege.ca

Construction Association

Construction Association

 

Harold Lindstrom –  harold.lindstrom@catb.on.ca

Electrical Workers

Electrical Workers

 

Glen Drewes – bm@ibew402.ca

Emergency Standard First Aid Training

Emergency Standard First Aid Training (first aid, CPR)

 

esfatraining@gmail.com

Heart 2 Heart First Aid and CPR Training

Heart 2 Heart First Aid and CPR Training

 

register@heart2heartcpr.com

Intola Safety

Intola Safety (customized safety training)

 

Jake Vandahl – jake@intolasafety.ca

Labourers Intl Union

Labourers Intl Union

 

Jamie Varga – jvarga@liunalocal607.ca

Lakehead University

Lakehead University (geology,engineering, business, mineral processing)

 

Pete Hollings – pnhollin@lakeheadu.ca

Minodahmun Development

Minodahmun Development (Greenstone area heavy equip training)

 

John Glover 519-272-3498

Nokiiwin Tribal Council

Nokiiwin Tribal Council

 

Audrey Gilbeau – director@nokiiwin.com

NORCAT

NORCAT (skilled labour training, H&Safety, drill helper,confined spaces/heights)

 

Wayne Cerven – wcerven@norcat.org

Northstream

Northstream (supervisor awareness–drug, alcohol, COVID, and safety training)

 

Donna Nordstrom – dnordstrom@nssr.ca

North Superior Workforce Planning Board

North Superior Workforce Planning Board

 

Madge Richardson – mrichardson@nswpb.ca

NorthWest Training and Development

NorthWest Training and Development (leadership, time management, stress, train the trainer)

 

Gary Phillips – nwtd@tbaytel.net

ORIGIN-Immersive Link (VR Training and heavy equipment simulators)

 

Paul Giles – paul@immersivelink.ca

OYAP

OYAP (Ontario Youth Apprenticeship Program) (school to work program-CO-Op- intro for Grade 11,12 students to trades)

 

Roger Drcar – roger_drcar@lakeheadschools.ca

SPI Health and Safety

SPI Health and Safety (confined space, fall protection, lockout/tagout)

Darren Lasn – Darren.lasn@spi-s.com

St.John Ambulance

St.John Ambulance (first aid, CPR)

 

thunder.bay@on.sja.ca

Taranis Training

Taranis Training (heavy equipment training)

 

training@taranis.ca

Mining Job Bank

Mining News

Mining Newsletter

Translate »
Skip to content